Necessary Evil and the Classic Postmortem

It is with some excitement that a game I have worked on together with my colleague and fellow Italian video game designer Stefano Gualeni on and off for the past year has been released and presented at Digra 2013 this week. But be warned, this is a non-commercial artsy piece, something which I liken to the game equivalent of a short poem.

Necessary Evil is a concept devised by Stefano and he asked me if I would be interested in coding it and doing the music. I came up with a couple of tunes, and Allister Brimble kindly agreed to arrange and mix them.

There’s nothing like an approaching deadline to motivate and force creative solutions, and I have to admit I really enjoyed the wrangling of the design and scrabbling together of bit and pieces to finish the game. It was a kind of extended game jam. And releasing a game (even such a small one) with my own compositions and even a bit of violin felt really good. I’d like to do more of this kind of stuff. Sometimes I wish that game development could be more immediate. Game jams are great for this, but they are perhaps a bit too pressured and short to be able to get into the flow. One week game jams would be ideal I think.

Anyway you can get the game here.

In other news, my classic postmortem session at GDC Europe last week is available for free on the GDC Vault.

Not a bad couple of weeks, I guess :)

One Response to “Necessary Evil and the Classic Postmortem”

  1. Erhan Says:

    Voice acting, music, programming :)

    This is one unique game like I have never seen in years.

    thanks Dino.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,045 other followers

